Google+

Adopt a Cardinal?

4

March 5, 2013 by mattfradd


The Cardinal I adopted . . . sort of.

The Cardinal I adopted . . . sort of

I still find it strange to think that the See of Peter is vacant.

It’s strange to think that if my son or daughter were to ask me, “Dad, who’s the Pope? What’s his name?” That I would have to reply, “The Church doesn’t have a Pope, ergo, he doesn’t have a name.” Okay, so maybe I wouldn’t answer him like that, but you get the point.

In the coming days the Cardinals, “whose prerogative it is to elect the Roman Pontiff” (CIC 349), will be entering conclave with the immense responsibility of electing the new Pope.

Wondering what you can do to help?

Well, here’s one way. A new website entitled www.adoptacardinal.org  allows you to spiritually “adopt” a Cardinal in order to pray and fast for him during the coming weeks before and during the conclave.

You simply enter your name and email, and in return, the site generates a randomly picked Cardinal whose name and bio is send to your inbox.

Here’s mine: Santos Abril y Castelló of Spain, Archpriest of the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. He’s been a Cardinal since 18-2-2012.

Click here to get started.

4 thoughts on “Adopt a Cardinal?

  1. Rachel says:

    I got His Eminence Theodore-Adrien Sarr! Never heard of him before but I love him already. I want to make him a hot chocolate and give him brand new pyjamas. Cheers for letting us know about this fantastic idea, Matt.

  2. Rachel says:

    btw Matt, your very own Cardinal looks sweet too. He reminds me of Archbishop Romero.

  3. […] That I would have to reply, “The Church doesn’t have a Pope, ergo, he doesn’t have a …read more Source: Matt […]

  4. Karla Sobral says:

    I have just adopted a Cardinal, and I am very happy because I am going to start now praying for him! He was born the same day as my beloved Dad!

Leave a Reply

Don't miss a post - enter your email address below.

Join 3,132 other followers

New Book!

My new DVD: How to Win an Argument without Losing a Soul.

Free E-Book!

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 892,511 Visits
