Google+

Why I Don’t Lie to my Children About Santa Claus

41

December 3, 2013 by mattfradd


Portrait-of-Father-Christmas-by-Dean-Morissete

And the winner of this year’s most controversial post goes to (drum roll . . . ) this one (or this one?)!

A few years back when our children got old enough to understand the story of Father Christmas (you may know him as Santa Claus), my wife and I had an argument. She thought (and still thinks) that it’s okay to tell your children that there exists such a person: A plump, white-bearded old man, dressed in fur, flying magical reindeer, delivering presents to good boys and girls throughout the world.

I disagree.

It’s one thing to allow your child to believe a myth, it’s another thing entirely, I think, to talk them into believing it.

Lying

The Catechism of the Catholic Church teaches that “[a] lie consists in speaking a falsehood with the intention of deceiving.”

Leaving to one side the issue of mental reservation and the, ‘if-a-Nazi-was-at-your-door’ dilemmas, it seems obvious to me that telling a child—who does not yet have the cognitive ability to discern the truth of the matter, and who trusts you to tell him the truth about the world, (and at the very least, not to deceive him about it)—that Santa exists; that he ‘knows if you’ve been bad or good,’ that he can be tracked on ReindeerCam, etc. etc. is a lie: a falsehood told with the intent of deceiving.

For this reason we don’t lie to our children about Father Christmas.

When people discover this they usually object in one of theww ways:

1. “My parents told me about Santa Claus and I turned out okay. Once I found out the truth, I never doubted that God existed or anything like that.”

That’s all fine, but that’s not why I object to telling your children about Santa Claus, I object to it because I think it’s lying.

2. “Don’t you worry that you’re robbing your children of the magic of Christmas?”

To this I say, if celebrating the historical fact of the birth of the second person of the Blessed Trinity is not enough to arouse wonder, ‘magic,’ or awe, within you and your children . . . You may wanna reflect upon that.

3. “I think it’s good for their imagination!”

Don’t you think that there are other ways to encourage your child’s imagination that don’t involve lying to them? Like reading them good literature? The Chronicles of Narnia, for instance, or, The Lord the Rings. These books, to paraphrase Fr. Robert Barron, prepare the imagination for the reception of the gospel.

Will the real St. Nick stand up?

St-Nicholas

Perhaps you and I should learn more about the real St. Nicholas, and even find ways to creatively celebrate his feast with our children (his feast is on the 6th of December); they’ve got some great ideas at the St. Nicholas Center.

Did you know that St. Nicholas was a fourth century Bishop of Myra (part of modern-day Turkey)? And that he participated in the First Council of Nicaea—where he apparently punched the heretic Arius for denying Christ’s divinity? Bring it Nicko!

Disagree?

If you’d like to read a post that appears to argue the opposite of what I’m arguing here, you can read Catholic apologist Michelle Arnold’s post, The Truth About Santa Claus. You might also enjoy Matt Warner’s recent post (looks like we posted around the same time) Are you lying to your children about Santa.

Have Your Say

Now, what are your thoughts? This post would be awfully boring if y’all agreed with me.I’m sure you won’t. I should also say that I’m open to changing my mind if you can offer me a good argument as to why this doesn’t constitute lying, but, honestly, I doubt you’ll be able.

41 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Lie to my Children About Santa Claus

  1. markbuzard says:

    sorry to add to the boredom, but I agree…. you’re right on, and besides: If I spend my hard earned money to buy kids gifts, why would I want some fat guy in a red suit to get the credit? 🙂

  2. Rachel says:

    I didn’t grow up celebrating Christmas, so I don’t have any attachments to traditions. I’ve always thought it was odd, although it came from parents whose hearts are full of love, to see parents intentionally lie to their children. I have no issue with Santa being a fun Christmas character, much like the Grinch and others. My husband did grow up celebrating Christmas, and his mother very much sold the story of Santa (presents under the tree were in a different wrapping paper and not labeled). She’s a loving person and I love that she’s my mother-in-law. But my husband had a rather traumatic experience when he found out that Santa wasn’t real–it was a domino effect: first he found out the tooth fairy wasn’t real, then the Easter bunny, then seconds later turned to his mother in horror as the realization came upon him about Santa.

    We haven’t been blessed with children, but if so we both agreed we wouldn’t sell Santa as a real person. When discussed, no one has given us a good defense for propagating that falsehood to their children. Because it’s in fun isn’t reason enough for me.

    Plus, why would I spend so much time on something that’s not real–when we have the birth of Christ to talk about!

  3. cducey2013 says:

    How about this: although the Santa Claus of cartoon Christmas specials and shopping mall extravaganzas is an entertaining invention, ol’ Father Christmas exists insomuchas he is a kinda spinoff of the historical St. Nikolaos of Myra. Also, the spirit of Christmastime generosity compels people to assemble Christmas gifts to give to the needy. Couldn’t those people be considered honorary Santa Clauses? I’m not saying that Santa Claus is a real person here. I’m just trying to challenge the notion that the whole Santa Claus think is a child-deceiving (consumeristic?) hoax.

  4. Rachel says:

    Okay…read the link you offered for the other side’s view on this. Again, I think Arnold is talking about something different than the intentional lying we see some parents doing. There’s a difference between reading myths and fairy tales, and a parent going to such lengths as tracking santa, having child talk to santa on phone or video, providing presents from santa, etc.

    I’d also like to say that I don’t agree with the good being rewarded and bad being punished–something Arnold said children learn from the whole Santa myth. Something I constantly teach my kindergarten CCE students is that sometimes it’s hard to follow God. We discuss the Saint for that day, and very often that Saint has not been treated very well by people, and I explain that even when it’s difficult to follow God we must do it anyway. Naughty and nice isn’t always rewarded as it should be.

  5. Bennett says:

    I do agree with your points. It’s lying to your children. Now, since almost all parents perpetuate this lie (and can get downright venomous with anyone who threatens to disrupt it), I don’t think it diminishes your children’s trust in you when they get older–it’s just part of the fun of growing up in North America. However, I do think it’s a chance to prove, early on, that you will shoot straight with your kids, even if it goes against the grain.

    However.

    Every girlfriend I’ve ever had, as well as my mother, are adamant on the issue that they want to practice the Santa Myth, and would be quite vexed with me were I to contradict them. So I have to ask myself whether it’s worthwhile to get into a tiff with my (hypothetical) children’s mother and grandmother over the issue.

    Do you think there’s an argument that can persuade them into dispensing with this crud? Or would it be acceptable for me to just maintain a reserved silence on the issue in the interest of familial harmony, if I’m ‘voted down’?

  6. Marnie says:

    We have successfully kept the magic of “Santa” to St Nicholas and it’s not lying- HE’s real!! We ask for his intercession, and the kids know that the guy in the mall is playing him like an actor. They know the REAL Santa ( we call him Sinterklass to keep our Dutch heritage alive) is a Bishop in Heaven and his spirit is alive just like St Anthony who finds my keys, and all the saints who pray for us daily.Christmas morning is Jesus’ birthday, and St Nicholas loved Jesus! Veggie Tales do a great job in their video St Nicholas.

  7. CT says:

    When I was ten my parents told me that they were Santa and that he didn’t really exist. I felt so hurt because of their lies. Sure, it was lots of fun while it lasted, but at some point in my teens I decided that I wouldn’t lie to my kids, and we wouldn’t do Santa. Luckily, my spouse feels the same way. We do, however, do pictures with Santa, just like we would do pictures with Snow White if we went to Disneyland. We tell the children that Santa is a fun fairy tell, and it is fine to “pretend” that he exists, but to keep in mind that he is just a story.

  8. Victor Sackett says:

    You don’t need to lie to the kids about Santa Claus. They will hear enough of that outside the house.
    However, Neither do you have to tell them that Santa Claus does not exist. I told my kids about the historical St. Nicholas and his habit of giving gifts and said that his spirit is still alive all of these centuries since and especially active at Christmastime.
    When my kids asked me direct questions about Santa Claus I didn’t say I didn’t believe in him I just related him to St. Nicholas etc.
    It all worked out fine with the four kids.

  9. Mike Richard says:

    I find your post to be compelling. But you asked for attempts to convince you otherwise, so here goes. We often pray to Jesus for a variety of things. His responses can be carried out through whatever means he desires. Often he uses people to affect us. Let’s say, for example, that my family suddenly became homeless and destitute and I asked Jesus to feed my starving children. Then let’s say that a very generous person gave us a place to stay and fed us until we could get back on our feet. Wouldn’t we say that Jesus was acting through that person? In a similar way, the idea of Santa acts through me. Anyway, that was the best I could come up with. Feel free to turn that argument into swiss cheese.

    Ho Ho Ho!

    • mattfradd says:

      Mike, thanks for your comment, and your humility! 🙂 It may be true that the Holy Spirit inspired that person to feed and house you, but It’s never true that Santa Claus (as he is now understood) acts through you because Santa Claus is false. One might object, ‘not Santa Claus, but the spirit of Christmas; the desire to do good, to share with others, etc.’ Okay, but that’s entirely different to saying that a fictional character is working through you.

      What are your thoughts?

  10. The Santa Claus that our culture is familiar with is NOT the same as St. Nicholas OR Fr. Christmas. The version of Santa Claus of today comes from Clement Moore’s Night Before Christmas poem. Never before then was there a Santa depicted as we do today. Yes, the roots of the real SAINT Nick are there, but he’s so different that he really bears no resemblance to the original. Therefore, I totally agree that it’s a lie to tell kids that Santa brings their presents if they are good. My mother taught us from the very beginning that Santa was a fun idea, but that he was pretend; and she did that because SHE had felt lied to by HER mother. I have two grown boys and, because my husband wanted to do the Santa thing, we did start with the Santa thing. BUT, I bought and wrapped all the gifts, so the Santa gifts that came on Christmas morning were ALWAYS wrapped in exactly the same wrapping paper as the gifts that were from mom and dad the night before, unwrapped on Christmas eve! Eventually, by the time they were 8 or so, the boys got the idea on their own and from then on Santa wasn’t a big deal. He was a fun, pretend idea, but we focused on Christ and making Jesus the real reason for the season. I’ve never regretted that. If we lie to them about Santa, then what else are we lying about??? Jesus? God? Heaven? Maybe God be Santa for grown-ups?

  11. Brady Grant says:

    Matt, interesting that I read yours and Matt Warners at the same time. I tend to agree with Warner on this (check out his blog, A Radical Life). My bride and I had a similar argument (see sides with you) but we chose to bring Santa into our home and tradition. We do celebrate the feast of St Nicholas as well and make Christmas morning fairly simple and humble.
    But it’s good to see and know that people still have these debates, good on ya mate!

    • mattfradd says:

      Thanks, Brady.

      I look forward to reading Warner’s article. I don’t doubt that it raises some insightful points.

      Let me ask you this, Brady, when you say, “we chose to bring Santa into our home and tradition.’ Do you mean by that you have told your children that, to quote from my post, there exists . . . a plump, white-bearded old man, dressed in fur, flying magical reindeer, delivering presents to good boys and girls throughout the world.”? And if so, how is that not “speaking a falsehood with the intention of deceiving”? And if that is what it is, how do you justify that?

      Looking forward to your reply, Brady. Thanks for adding to the discussion.

      • Brady says:

        Matt,
        Yes, we talk about a fat, white bearded man (not unlike their father ). I would argue first that my “intention” is not to deceive at all, and therefore not a “lie”. When I tell stories of Santa to my children, I very much liken it to reading Tolkien or Lewis to them. Do my younger children fully grasp the idea that no there isn’t a talking lion, Hobbits, Ogres, dragons? No! Am I intentionally deceiving them by reading these stories to them and perpetuating these “myths”? Again, I would say no. When they reach a more mature age, their childhood innocence and imagination gives way to truth. My “intention” of telling stories about Santa to my children is to hold on to that imaginative wonder for as long as possible.

    • momsatmass says:

      Brady,
      My problem with Warner’s argument and yours is that no one in their right mind actually reads their child Lord of the Rings and then tells him that their really are hobbits. We don’t tell them that the shire and middle earth are real places and then leave a hobbit treat on our doorstep to prove it. What most people do with Santa is not just reading a story, it’s crossing the line to lying. Also, I don’t understand what connection the modern Santa story has to Jesus and what Christmas truth is being told through it. By the modern Santa I’m referring to the North Pole, elves, toy shop, etc.

  12. Dave says:

    Christmas is one of those occasions where Christians have a great opportunity to distinguish themselves from the rest of society. Why play into the whole superficial materialism and chaos of the ‘holiday’ season? Imagine if more Christian families put in as much effort into participating in the real meaning of Christmas as they do with all the trappings of ‘the holidays’? I’m the first to admit I got caught up in the secular aspect of Christmas for most of my life. How do you fully prepare your hearts and minds for the coming of our savior while at the same time getting caught up in the materialism and Santa thing?

  13. Hello,

    Thank you for this wonderful post.

    For the past eight years I have been involved in a research project allowing me to work with over 16,000 people to help provide us a deeper understanding for how the Irrational Mind functions, and when/how it is formed. The results have been very compelling to indicate that the act of conditioning a child to believe these illusions are real has been one of the underlying problems in irrational and abusive behavior later on in life. Below is an excerpt from “The Book of Ah Ha,” which is a reflection of the insights gained in this research.

    Thank you for the work and effort you have put into this.

    May others see the value in it.

    Be well…

    Jennie Lake

    ***************
    Excerpt from: The Book of AH Ha

    This is also about the same time the “Irrational Mind” is formed.

    The irrational mind is the part of our mental experience that allows us to believe something that doesn’t actually exist in the real world – is real. Our society also describes this as – someone who is gullible. The truth is that in many ways gullibility is conditioned into you. An example of this is when a child first starts to believe in Santa Claus. In reality, there is no such person as Santa Claus, but children are given compelling evidence to believe he is real because the cookies have been eaten, and there are presents under the tree that say: “From Santa.”
    How can we believe a mental illusion is more real than actual reality?

    Well, the brain is designed to be able to do so. Through the creative aspects of the brain we can create worlds and realities in our mind that have allowed us to grow as a species. The dilemma has been that we actually became the mental beliefs we created. Most of us were simply never taught how to distinguish between the creation and the creator of the illusion, or how to question our thoughts and beliefs to ensure we don’t get lost by forgetting what is the illusion, and what is actual reality.

    To expand on the previous Lesson, let’s again look at the example of when a child is afraid there is a monster under the bed. We understand that the child’s belief is an illusion, and that parents actually look under the bed to reassure the child that if there was a Monster – he is gone – and that the “act of looking” for the monster gives the child compelling evidence to believe there could have been a monster under the bed, and therefore – thoughts are real. As a child, we begin the process of being conditioned to identify “who we are” as being the content of our mind. This begins the process of creating a deep seated internal belief that if we are thinking it, or feeling it – it must be actual reality.

    This is how the irrational mind is created. We now not only believe that our thoughts are actual reality, but the fact that the monster could have been there (or might come back) creates the foundation for what we call – anxiety, stress, panic attacks, and more. Children are not born with these beliefs; therefore you are not broken – just confused.

    As a child we believed that Santa, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, and the Monster under the bed, were – actually real. Then, as an adult, the part of our “reality” that is created by mental illusions continued, and we simply replaced our old beliefs about Santa and the Easter Bunny with new ones, harming our self, and others, if they don’t live by our belief systems. When you have the realization that almost all of your problems are no different than the belief in Santa, you begin the process of moving away from conceptual reality, and back to actual reality: This is life changing.

  14. Kala Nila says:

    I don’t have any kids but growing up my mom had a thing against Santa Claus so I absorbed that. She says he takes away from focusing on Jesus during Christmas so he was completely absent from our celebrations. Because of that, I’ve always thought that telling kids that Santa Claus is real is silly and just unnecessary. On the other hand, we celebrated Three Kings’ day in my family and my mom would tell us that the three kings were coming but I always knew that wasn’t true. (They lived 2,000 years ago. Obviously, they’re dead.) I always imagined her and my dad dressing up as the three kings, but who dressed up as the third? I could never figure that out. It was kind of fun to wake up in the morning and find the grass we left for the camels all over the floor! Suspension of disbelief maybe?
    Now that I’m coming into Catholicism, I’ve learned about St. Nicholas and I love him! I’m actually looking forward to celebrating the real Santa Claus. 🙂 Not to mention, St. Nicholas was an awesome guy so I’m sure it would be better to think about how we can imitate him instead of being coerced into being nice for some stranger in a red coat.
    If I had kids, I think I would rather celebrate St. Nicholas (on the 6th of Dec) and Three Kings’ Day. Maybe it would be fun to pretend that St. Nicholas and the three kings are coming even though we know they’re not. Pretending can be fun…

  15. Ray Donohue says:

    Kids and adults like certain amazing things they can think about and gets them that happy feelings of wonders. A good book, like anything Charles Dickens wrote, a good movie.. kids like cartoons, and things bigger than life.. there is nothing wrong with Santa Claus. Why not ban cartoons.. they aren’t real. Ban Huckleberry Finn, he wan’t real. Don’t let kids have any imagination.. of fun or expectations.. they aren’t real.. Don’t steal fun from kids.. they learn naturally.. on their own.. that is life.. we learn naturally about so many things.. I think you are dead wrong. As a Catholic Priest, I would have someone dressed as Santa come in with me at the Childrens Mass on Christmas eve, stop at the manger, kneel and say a prayer.. and then take off again to do what he does on Christmas eve. We then focused on Christ, the Virgin Mary and St. Joseph and the Holy Eucharist. The meaning of Christmas and the joy God brings to us. There was no harm, no dangers.. kids grow up so fast.. especially today.. let them be kids for a while and enjoy things like Santa. I just feel you are way off base with this.. I know a few families who told kids right off the bat that there is no Santa.. they think they know more than anyone else and are obnoxious to be around.. take away the fantasies and you deprive so much from the kids.

    • Rachel says:

      Hi…I just wanted to clarify–I think what is being discussed is the blatant, intentional lying that some seem to do. I think all sorts of fiction are wonderful and love to enjoy myself, and if I had children, would want them to enjoy as well. Just as I would allow my children to watch fictional movies, read the Chronicles of Narnia or act out plays, I would also allow my children to do any of these things that involved Santa Claus.

      But I don’t see myself going to extreme lengths to have children believe Aslan is a real character, or that The Grinch or The Cat in the Hat is either.

      As a teacher it was very difficult when a kindergartener would directly ask me if Santa Claus was real. I would always change the subject; never lie.

  16. Aislinn says:

    Hi Matt. I actually have the same mindset as you. I told my kids very early, age of 2 all about St Nicholas and all about how he was the the person that was the real Santa. I also didn’t want to tell them something that wasn’t true and wanted them to know the really story. We do celebrate St Nicholas Day with gold chocolate coins in the kids shoes and talk about who he was. My favorite movie about Nicholas is called the Boy Who Became Santa. Children are very trusting and will believe what you tell them and I do my best to be candid with them. My daughter is almost 9 and as she got older she said once, the real Santa is dead. My counter was yes he had died but he’s in Heaven with Jesus and is more alive than we are and is praying for us. They still talk about Santa as the old chubby guy in the red suit but if I ask them about Santa they can tell me who he actually was and the “magic” of Christmas is all about Jesus’ birthday. So they haven’t missed out on anything, it’s still exciting we just celebrate it without the imaginary aspect 🙂

  17. Steven says:

    “Don’t you think that there are other ways to encourage your child’s imagination that don’t involve lying to them? Like reading them good literature? The Chronicles of Narnia, for instance, or, The Lord the Rings. These books, to paraphrase Fr. Robert Barron, prepare the imagination for the reception of the gospel.”

    Teaching them to believe in an omniscient being who is a giver of good things, cares for them, knows them by name, loves them, and performs miracles doesn’t prepare them to receive the gospel?

    You’re not lying to them, you’re telling them a story. Santa Claus and the true meaning of Christmas are not mutually exclusive. By the time your kid is old enough to realize you were “lying” about Santa, they are also old enough to understand WHY you told that story.

    Don’t overthink it and don’t feel condemned by holier-than-thou blog posts calling you a liar. You won’t burn in hell if your kid believes in Santa Claus.

    • mattfradd says:

      Thanks Steven, other than the “holier-than-thou” slur I think you make some good points. Of course one can tell a ‘story’ about Santa Claus and that wouldn’t necessarily constitute lying.

      My point is, however, that when parents teach their kids about Santa, they don’t usually tell it as if it’s a story. Instead they say things like, “are you excited for Santa to come this Christmas?'” They take bites out of cookies; ask, “did you hear the sleigh bells last night?” When their children ask “was Santa really here?” They say, “yes.” That to me constitutes lying. It, to quote the Catechism again, “consists in speaking a falsehood with the intention of deceiving.”

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      • Steven says:

        You’re not lying anymore than Tom Hanks is lying when he tells us he’s Forrest Gump. You’re telling a story, and acting out your part.

        I appreciate that you feel convicted about this and follow your convictions. I don’t, and do not consider myself (or any other Santa-folks) to be a liar.

  18. Abigail says:

    I definitely agree with you. A lie is a lie. I was taught at my Catholic high school (very traditional Catholic teacher) that a lie is an INHERENT evil which means no outside circumstances EVER can ever make a lie okay. Ever. I am 19 and female and when I have children I do not plan on perpetuating the lie to my children. I completely agree one can still have awe and “magic” of Christmas simply by the beauty of the incarnation, Christmas spirit of generosity, etc.
    a few practical questions though:
    1. Do you worry about your children spoiling it for other kids at a young age and having their parents hate you forever. I feel like iD REALLY stress to my kids to not tell other children this. But even still, kids talk.
    2. How are we to respond when other people (cousins etc) that we are around on Christmas believe in Santa? Ignore all mention of Santa? Break the news to them? Is not correcting a misbelief a sin on my part?

    • Rachel says:

      I know you’re addressing Matt, but I just wanted to throw this in:

      I taught kindergarten for 6 years & it never mattered much that some kids believed Santa was real & others didn’t. I had students of different religions, & obviously the Muslim kids didn’t believe in Santa. My students would have heated arguments, but really the whole Santa myth is centered on “believing” so it never really broke the…faith?…of the kids who believed. So I wouldn’t worry about that too much–if you have kids just teach them to be gentle & kind.

  19. jsb says:

    excellent! this is my homily for tomorrow. united in prayer. peace.

  20. Teri says:

    I teach 8th grade PSR and these kids get “you believe in God? I bet you still believe in Santa Clause too!!”. I tell my kids that we believe in such a BIG God that we can invent someone like Santa who is good and kind and magical. C.S.Lewis loved Father Christmas and it is one of the funnier parts in The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe when he visit the children to give them gifts. I also told my kids that isn’t it just possible that “first remember San Diego, San Antonio” that San Niklas started the actual name?! My family loves Santa and my kids are all in their 20’s. Not a warped or disappointed one in the bunch! 😉

  21. emmafradd says:

    What about your friends whose holster believe in Santa?
    Do you tell them that he’s actually a lie?

    If you truly believe that Santa is a ‘lie’ in the sinful sense.
    Wouldn’t you want to spread the truth to all the little people in your life who believe that lie??

    • emmafradd says:

      Children* not holster ha.

    • godlessmath says:

      If a Muslim kid came up to you and told you about the Prophet Mohammed, would you, as a Christian, hesitate to tell them “I don’t believe in any of that”…?

      In any case, the question you came here to ask has already been answered. This blog post is exactly a way to “spread the truth.” I for one wouldn’t hesitate to answer truthfully to any kid who asked me directly what I thought about Santa Claus, just like I don’t hesitate when a Jehovah’s Witness or a Mormon, or their children, comes knocking on my door or approaches me on the street.

  22. Good info, but I think we might be missing the point. Children look to Santa to give them something; this is what they have been taught to understand about Santa. Christmas and Saint Nicholas are not about getting they are about giving. (And I don’t mean just Santa giving.) We all know that Jesus came to give Himself for our sins; He taught the Apostles His way of being humble servant leaders. This is what we should be leading our children to understand. It’s not about lying about a Saint that does exist, but is about teaching the true meaning of Christmas, giving of ourselves in Christ’s example. Remember God only makes good things; we have a talent to turn them into un-holy things, e.g. the commercialism of Christmas. Receiving is a good thing but learning to be a giver is even better. Children receiving good things can learn to value giving when we teach them about Jesus and his Birthday and how He and Saints like Nicholas gave to help others. I have been “Santa” for several years in my Parish, the Food Bank, my Knight’s Council, and my City and I always ask the children what they are giving to their parents, siblings, relatives, and friends and marvel at their reaction and then recognition of giving and receiving. Have a wonderful and Blessed Christmas!

  23. […] Claus has created and are vehemently opposed to lying to their children. I find Matt Fradd’s post, a Catholic apologist, on this is topic to reflect how I view the situation. He quotes the […]

  24. holinessinmotherhood says:

    Thanks so much for writing about this. I have struggled greatly with Santa Claus since I became of a mother. I was raised doing it, but now it feels superfluous and unnecessary. I wrote about my thoughts and linked to your post. Advent blessings!
    http://holinessinmotherhood.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/sayingnotosanta/

  25. <>

    one doesn’t usually believe in myths … they know about, or all aware of them

  26. Marc says:

    Here’s a Christmas Song I wrote to the tune of “Silver Bells.”
    Sing along!

    There’s a lie comes
    ‘Round at Christmas
    Parents say that it’s cute
    “It is just harmless fun for the children”

    But this white lie
    Is a black lie
    Undermining the truth
    It’s the vile lie that Santa is real

    Parents’ lies
    Willful lies
    All to deceive little children
    Liars all
    Watch them fall
    Soon it will be Judgment Day

    They say Santa
    Sees and knows all
    Knows who’s good and who’s bad
    Then he visits all homes in one evening

    He’s omniscient
    Omnipresent
    Is the standard of right
    He’s the god of all children who hear

    Parents’ lies
    Willful lies
    All to deceive little children
    Liars all
    Watch them fall
    Soon it will be Judgment Day

    Parents say that
    God is real, but
    He’s just like Santa Claus
    He’s a myth of their parents’ devising

    Don’t expect the
    Child of liars
    To believe them when they
    Say that there is a real Jesus Christ

    Parents’ lies
    Willful lies
    All to deceive little children
    Liars all
    Watch them fall
    Soon it will be Judgment Day

    Children grow up
    Then they know their
    Parents lied to their face
    Then all trust has completely eroded

    “Why should I think
    Anything you
    Say is true anymore?”
    And in all those households you will hear

    “My Dad lied
    My Mom lied
    I’ve been deceived by my parents”
    Liars all
    Watch them fall
    Soon it will be Judgment Day

Leave a Reply

Don't miss a post - enter your email address below.

Join 3,132 other followers

New Book!

My new DVD: How to Win an Argument without Losing a Soul.

Free E-Book!

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 892,713 Visits
