Google+

Metallica and Holiness

5

December 19, 2013 by mattfradd


metallica-james-hetfield-hd-wallpaper-42692Many people believe, if only implicitly, that to be holy is to be stifled; less free; less themselves.

In other words, they think it’s Hell all the way to Heaven and Heaven all the way to Hell. (read more here).

As Christians, it’s vital that we understand this to be mammothly fallacious!

God is good. he is not holding out on us, as Lucifer suggested to Eve (Gen 3:1-5). He is for us (Rom 8:31). He is love (John 4:8;16)!

The truth is that sin makes us boring.

In the following clip, Metallica’s front man, James Hetfield, explains how this was true in his own life. He doesn’t use the word ‘sin’, and I’m, of course, not implying that Hetfield has had or is any way near having a conversion to Christ, but he does get across the concept I just spoke of, that, to give the twitter version, “Virtue will make you happy. Sin will make you bored.”

What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Metallica and Holiness

  1. Sean says:

    With God all things are possible and with the Devil there are limitations right off the bat

  2. Willia says:

    att please check the video that will playright after,

  3. Mike says:

    Ugh what is better than the combination of Rock’n’Roll and Evangelization?!?!?!?!!? Nothing. Brian Welch was the guitar player for a band called KORN and became a born again Christian. His book is called Save Me From Myself. For the minority of Christian/ Heavy Metal enthusiast… just me?

    http://www.amazon.ca/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=brian++welch&tag=msncahydra-20&index=aps&hvadid=1733266984&ref=pd_sl_1bajahdtsy_p

  4. I struggle greatly with this. Part of me still clings to the “ease” of my former lifestyle, if you will. I had to learn a good bit of self-control over the last few years; not to just automatically obey my carnal impulses and understanding how what I do with my body takes a toll on my soul either way I choose to act. It’s been a bit of a struggle but I will admit that spiritually and emotionally it feels so much better to do what I know is right by the Lord, not what is deemed “right” by the world.
    And I pray that one day Mr. Hetfield will have a conversion to Christ. 🙂

  5. carloshelms says:

    It’s a peculiar male trait: seeking the rush, the power, the acceptance. But if I may paraphrase Jesus: you can achieve your heart’s desire now – and take it to the grave; OR, you can receive the gift of the new desire and take it into eternity. As Genesis 3 says: we have choices.

Leave a Reply

Don't miss a post - enter your email address below.

Join 3,132 other followers

New Book!

Free E-Book!

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 892,107 Visits
