Google+

Pope Francis said WHAT at the 3rd Vatican Council?

16

January 2, 2014 by mattfradd


Pope Francis

I was contacted by a protestant friend of mine this morning who was quite disturbed by what Pope Francis had apparently said at the 3rd Vatican Council. “Let me stop you right there, I said…”

He pointed me to a website.

the following sarcastic monologue in my head ensued:

“What if—I know this is a little out there, but hear me out—what if it were, say, possible for websites to have false information. I know! I know! I sound like a conspiracy theorist, next I’ll be claiming that 9/11 was an inside job and that Neil Armstrong never set foot on the moon…”

44511843

Okay, enough of that.

Here’s the low-down.

Recently there was a blog posted by Diversity Chronicle claiming that Pope Francis said (at Vatican III) among other things:

“Through humility, soul searching, and prayerful contemplation we have gained a new understanding of certain dogmas. The church no longer believes in a literal hell where people suffer. This doctrine is incompatible with the infinite love of God.”

This is entirely false, obviously.

Click the “disclaimer” tag up the top and you’ll read that “The original content on this blog is largely satirical. . .  I created this blog for my own personal amusement.”

So there you have it.

If someone questions you about what the Pope declared at Vatican III, I would advise you to giggle, pass them a caramel, point out to them that there has been no such council, and refer them to the snopes.com. A site dedicated to debunking myths so you don’t have to.

16 thoughts on “Pope Francis said WHAT at the 3rd Vatican Council?

  1. Thank you! –It’s hard to keep up with all of the riff-raff going on in the secular and Protestant world about Papa Francis and trying to keep the language clear about what he is and is not saying. He is causing quite a stir but it’s getting people thinking, it’s getting people talking, and I know the Holy Spirit will be working in them to hopefully bring them Home. 🙂

  2. mia tremblay says:

    Hey Matt, one of my protestant friends said she heard the Pope said that you could pray atheist into heaven…even as atheist…..I have never heard or seen anything written..do you know about that, and I have found that snopes is not always correct. Thank you for all that you do Matt! You are always funny and honest! I really learn a lot from you and what you post, please keep up the great work!

    • mattfradd says:

      Mia, whenever some begins a sentence with, “did you know that Pope Francis said ________,” you should always respond with, really? show me the original source.

  3. Wow. That’s crazy. It’s getting more challenging to break facts from fiction everywhere. A blogger’s work is never done.

  4. YEA! Me too!

    I was contacted last week on the SAME BALONEY

    I can hardly wait for VATICAN IV, hope it get a bit more coverage and ALOT more truth.

    God Bless you, Patrick working4chtisttwo

  5. Rana says:

    Quick question! I know the Bible has no contradictions, but these two versus seem to conflict. Could you please explain this?
    1) Romans 3:23 states that no one is without sin.
    2) 2 Corinthians 5:21 states that Jesus is perfect. And we know, as Catholics, that Mary is perfect as well.
    Am I taking these out of context?

    • mattfradd says:

      Thanks, Rana. Romans 3:23, like all Scripture, needs to be read in context. This verse is not meant to be taken universally. We know that because 1) we know Christ was sinless, and 2) we know that babies, and the severely retarded can not sin. Mary is also an exception to this.

      • Rana says:

        Thank you, Mr. Fradd. 🙂
        This brings another question to mind. If that verse can’t be taken universally, what’s to say any other verse can’t be taken universally? For instance, if not all people can sin (your examples above), then what’s to say Jesus didn’t really mean we should eat his Body and drink his Blood?

  6. True/False….the most important is the social order we want. GOD does not give ‘cash’ like he gave ‘maana’ at least that is a long time ago. ‘Conspiracy Theory’ …yes for the fact someone got to make sense and be a leader and keeps GOD’s money for him…The money we make by a laid down principles and give back to the system (Tithe).The ‘devil’ is personified when you break into the church coffers, and that’s ‘hell’ when you’re caught. Christ came to die for us….and after that he lives in us…..need any Biblical quotes?

  7. […] Click on: Pope Francis said WHAT at the 3rd Vatican Council matt fradd […]

  8. Please give us the real pope Francis’ address at the third Vatican council.

  9. It wouldn’t be believable at all if it weren’t for the FACT that Francis runs around saying so many boneheaded things that we know he did in fact say, like that atheists are “redeemed.”

    When I first read the satire in question, I believed it too. I thought it a little strange it talked about Vatican III, because I had never heard of any Vatican III, but I thought perhaps it was just a little council, you know, so I moved on and believed the article. Why not? What has the pope said recently that wasn’t insane? His book or bull ranting against capitalism and praising communism as the new evangelism certainly wasn’t far off from the nonsense he’s accused of in this satirical article.

  10. Thank you very much for the light of this much disturbing, confusing issue!

Leave a Reply

Don't miss a post - enter your email address below.

Join 3,132 other followers

New Book!

My new DVD: How to Win an Argument without Losing a Soul.

Free E-Book!

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 893,090 Visits
